top of page

Why Am I So Engaged in the Police Brutality Topic ?

Growing up a young minority girl in an urban area, I have constantly feared for my safety as I watched the latest news reports. About five years ago, as I became more conscious, the fear I had wasn’t just for myself. The fear I had grew to incorporate my male cousins, godbrothers and frankly all minority young men and men that I knew. Oddly enough, the people I trusted to protect my community were the same group of people who my male associates needed protection from. People, around the world, (including myself), have lost trust in their police departments. People have lost trust in their police departments because onlookers continue to see the legal system fail minority men through the court outcomes of numerous police brutalilty cases.


bottom of page